For Distribution to CPs

Press Complaints Commission

From the Chairman

Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission Matti Alderson Roger Alton Professor The Lord Chan **Edmund Curran** Paul Dacre Jane Ennis Mary Francis Dr. Arthur Hearnden Vivien Hepworth Paul Horrocks Charles McGhee Adam Phillips Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson

The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO Director

Tim Toulmin

The Right Honourable The Lord Woolf Royal Courts of Justice Strand · London WC2A 2LL

11 November 2004

Jean had Woolf,

Gairs Lincerety, Unistaplier Meyer

I apologise for being so slow to reply to your letter of the 29 October.

I am very pleased that Tim Toulmin was able to be of help in the matter of the sentencing guidelines. Since then Tim and I have had a good conversation with Igor Judge which, I hope, he found as useful as did we. There are clearly things that can be done - both short and longer term - which should lead to a better understanding by editors of the Judiciary. I am happy to do whatever I can to help this process along.

Sir Christopher Meyer

