Press Complaints Commission

From the Director

Your reference: 98/295/ag/hrw

17 August 2005

Andrew George MP House of Commons London SW1A 0AA Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission Matti Alderson Roger Alton Professor The Lord Chan Edmund Curran Paul Dacre Jane Ennis Mary Francis CBE Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill Paul Horrocks Charles McGhee Adam Phillins Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO Rear Admiral Nick Wilkinson CB

> *Director* Tim Toulmin

how we carry

Your constituent: Andrew Bull

Thank you for your letter of 16th August addressed to Sir Christopher Meyer, who has asked me to reply.

Your constituent is correct that Private Eye does not subscribe to the self-regulatory scheme overseen by the Press Complaints Commission. It is a voluntary system – although every national newspaper, virtually all regional and local newspapers, and most magazine publishers are part of it. His enquiry about the magazine's motives in excluding itself would be better addressed to the editor of the Private Eye.

With kind regards.

prevent in

Tim Toulmin

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355 Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264 e.mail: complaints@pcc.org.uk website: www.pcc.org.uk



MOD100042446