For Distribution to CPs

Press Complaints Commission

Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission Matti Alderson Roger Alton Professor The Lord Chan **Edmund Curran** Paul Dacre Jane Ennis Mary Francis Dr. Arthur Hearnden Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill

Paul Horrocks Charles McGhee Adam Phillips Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO

> Director Tim Toulmin

From the Director

Bob Satchwell Esq Director Society of Editors University Centre Granta Place Mill Lane Cambridge CB2 1RU

11th January 2005

DATA PROTECTION ACT GUIDANCE NOTE

Further to my letter of 10th December, I am writing with a final version of the above Guidance Note, and a copy of a letter that I have received from Phil Jones at the Information Commissioner's office.

It is clear that the Commission must endorse this note as soon as possible - and I would aim for that to take place at its meeting on the 2nd February. Given that we consulted exhaustively on the matter last year, I am not really asking for substantive comments this time, particularly as the note is considered to be accurate by the Information Commissioner. Moreover, there is a very clear disclaimer in that it underlines that the guidance is general and should not be relied upon as legal advice.

If you have any pressing comments or queries, please let me know as soon as possible. Otherwise, I shall put the note to the Commission for ratification shortly.

With kind regards.

Tim Toulmin

Enc.

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355 Textphone for deaf and hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264 email: complaints@pcc.org.uk web site: www.pcc.org.uk

