For Distribution to CPs

New regional editor appointed

1. New regional editor appointed as Curran retires after four years on PCC.

Spencer Feeney, editor of the South Wales Evening Post, has been appointed to the Press Complaints Commission as one of two editors from the regional press. His term of office began on May 1st. His appointment follows the retirement from the Commission of Ed Curran, Editor in Chief of the Belfast Telegraph. Announcing the news, Sir Christopher Meyer, Chairman of the PCC, said: 'Although the PCC is mostly made up of public members, the role of the editors is vital in ensuring that our rulings remain relevant and respected throughout the industry as a whole. We are lucky that Spencer Feeney has agreed to serve on the Commission. He will bring great journalistic experience and a valuable perspective to our work. At the same time, we are very sorry to be losing Ed Curran, who has been a tremendous colleague to members of the Commission and its staff, and to whom we are particularly grateful for everything he has done in helping to raise the Commission's profile in Northern Ireland'.

2. New rules on conflicts of interest and register of interests.

The Commission today publishes rules for its members and director concerning conflicts of interest. They define circumstances in which conflicts may arise, and outline the procedure that should be followed when they do. To read the rules, click here

It is also publishing a register of members' interests, which covers details of members' other directorships, remunerated employment, public appointments and charity trusteeships and, in the case of lay members, any payments from newspapers or magazines within the last twelve months. The register can be accessed here

ENDS

Notes

1) Members of the Commission are appointed by an independent Appointments Commission. Press members are nominated by the trade bodies - the Newspaper Society in the case of the regional press. Members of the Appointments Commission are Sir Christopher Meyer (who chairs it); Baroness Smith of Gilmorehill; Sir David Clementi; Andrew Phillips (Lord Phillips of Sudbury); and Tim Bowdler. Lay members are appointed following open advertising and interview.

There are seven editors - drawn from among the ranks of senior editors in the national and regional press, and from periodicals - and ten lay members, including the Chairman.

- 2) Publication of the rules on conflicts of interest and register of members' interests follows Sir Christopher Meyer's statement to the Public Administration Select Committee in December 2005 in which he announced that a review of the rules on conflicts of interest was underway and would be made public in due course.
- 3) For more information, call Stephen Abell on 020 7831 0022.
- 3 May 2006